Powder Report

March roared in like a lion! Storms pummeled the Alps, Tetons and Sierra the first week of March and got a lot of shredders hopes up for a big month of serious dumpage. As it turned out, ’Miracle March’ did not live up to expectations, but it did snow a little bit, a lot of places. Here’s some shots from where our team and ambassadors found the fluff in March:

Forrest Shearer (@forrestshearer) traveled to the country of Kosovo to film with Teton Gravity Research (@tetongravity). Photo - (@superhamdo)

Alpine playground in Kosovo. Photo - Forrest Shearer

Luca Pandolfi (@pandolf73) went couloir hunting in the Italian Dolomites.

Luca charges into the Dolomiti mist. Photo - (@rickybrussa)

Splitboard guide Neil Mcnab (@neilmcnab)led a ’Backcountry Steeps’ course in France and Italy. Here’s his crew enroute to a line.

Chris Yapp cashes in on Mcnab’s masterful powder hunting skills.

Claudia Avon (@claudia_avon) took a road trip to Southern Colorado. She hiked and ripped this line in Silverton. Photo - Ben Eng (@bitchin_camaro)

Claudia flashed the steep line on the left in Telluride.

Allison Lightcap (@allisonlightcap) barreled into some face melting blower in Grand Teton National Park. Photo - Seth Lightcap (@sethlightcap).

Jimmy Goodman (@goddmannnnnn) found this glory panel in the High Sierra. Photo - Seth Lightcap (@sethlightcap).

Mariah Dugan (@gnar__marr) threaded this cool line in the Mammoth backcountry. Photo - (@davefaus)

Jumping back across the Atlantic…check out this epic sunset Sten Smola (@sten_smola) caught on a splitboard mission in the Swiss Valais.

Another stunning scenic shot from Sten’s home turf in the Swiss Valais.

Miikka Hast (@miikkaphoto) chased pow to Northern Norway in March. Here he’s on the hunt in the Lyngen Alps.

An incredible northern lights show danced across the sky one night Miikka was camping in Senja.

We’ll leave off with a teaser to the April team powder report…it’s AK season! Chris Coulter (@chris_coulter) snapped this insane spine wall shot in Haines, AK.

Share Story
Published on
10 April 2015
22
May
Adventure Season
Spring Snow Camping Tips
Story by Nick Russell Sleeping in the mountains is paradise. Walking into the backcountry and carrying everything you need to survive brings a gratifying sense of self-sustainability and strength. Although it can take a great amount of effort...
Nick Russell
10
May
Adventure Season
Spring Shred Tips - Board Tuning + Terrain Selection
Forrest Shearer slides into a spring sunset in Iceland. Photo - Andrew Miller. Not as many chairlifts spinning these days, but there is no denying that shred season is still alive and well in the Northern Hemisphere. The Western US and Rockies...
Seth Lightcap
30
Apr
Meet The Team
Jones Ambassador Riding Stances
Since the pioneering days of the sport, different snowboard stances have defined different snowboard styles. Some stances are better for carving, other stances are better for stomping airs and riding switch. Finding the stance that best fits...
Seth Lightcap
22
Apr
Be 1% Better
Start small, think big, make a difference Since the very first Jones board popped out of the press in 2009, every board we’ve ever made was built with recycled steel edges and recycled ABS sidewalls. We use only a couple meters of material in...
6
Mar
Trip Reports
Hunza - Splitboarding In Pakistan With Julien ’Pica’ Herry
Story By Julien ’Pica’ Herry. Photos By Jeremy Bernard. Jones Ambassador Guide Julien ’Pica’ Herry shares the story behind Hunza, the new adventure film by Invade Media documenting the magnificent mountains and culture of the Hunza Valley in...
Julien ’Pica’ Herry
26
Feb
Meet The Team - Videos
Out Here Ep. 2 - Splitboarding In The Wasatch With Chris Coulter
Thrilled to debut the second episode of the OUT HERE video series! Made in partnership with Spark R&D, the OUT HERE series shares the backcountry snowboarding adventures of Jones x Spark R&D ambassadors as they explore the outer reaches...
Chris Coulter