Powder Report

March roared in like a lion! Storms pummeled the Alps, Tetons and Sierra the first week of March and got a lot of shredders hopes up for a big month of serious dumpage. As it turned out, ’Miracle March’ did not live up to expectations, but it did snow a little bit, a lot of places. Here’s some shots from where our team and ambassadors found the fluff in March:

Forrest Shearer (@forrestshearer) traveled to the country of Kosovo to film with Teton Gravity Research (@tetongravity). Photo - (@superhamdo)

Alpine playground in Kosovo. Photo - Forrest Shearer

Luca Pandolfi (@pandolf73) went couloir hunting in the Italian Dolomites.

Luca charges into the Dolomiti mist. Photo - (@rickybrussa)

Splitboard guide Neil Mcnab (@neilmcnab)led a ’Backcountry Steeps’ course in France and Italy. Here’s his crew enroute to a line.

Chris Yapp cashes in on Mcnab’s masterful powder hunting skills.

Claudia Avon (@claudia_avon) took a road trip to Southern Colorado. She hiked and ripped this line in Silverton. Photo - Ben Eng (@bitchin_camaro)

Claudia flashed the steep line on the left in Telluride.

Allison Lightcap (@allisonlightcap) barreled into some face melting blower in Grand Teton National Park. Photo - Seth Lightcap (@sethlightcap).

Jimmy Goodman (@goddmannnnnn) found this glory panel in the High Sierra. Photo - Seth Lightcap (@sethlightcap).

Mariah Dugan (@gnar__marr) threaded this cool line in the Mammoth backcountry. Photo - (@davefaus)

Jumping back across the Atlantic…check out this epic sunset Sten Smola (@sten_smola) caught on a splitboard mission in the Swiss Valais.

Another stunning scenic shot from Sten’s home turf in the Swiss Valais.

Miikka Hast (@miikkaphoto) chased pow to Northern Norway in March. Here he’s on the hunt in the Lyngen Alps.

An incredible northern lights show danced across the sky one night Miikka was camping in Senja.

We’ll leave off with a teaser to the April team powder report…it’s AK season! Chris Coulter (@chris_coulter) snapped this insane spine wall shot in Haines, AK.

Share Story
Published on
10 April 2015
4
Sep
Trip Reports - Videos
Ode To Muir: The Inspiration And Challenges Of Jeremy Jones’ New Film
As mountain explorers that often visit wilderness areas, it’s easy to take these protected areas for granted. When you see a wilderness sign at a trailhead you don’t often contemplate the bureaucratic battle that it...
Jeremy Jones
4
Sep
Introducing The Mind Expander Collection
Forrest Shearer exits a Wasatch whiteroom riding the Jones Mind Expander. Photo - Andrew Miller One of the coolest things about snowboarding is that every run you take is a new opportunity to draw a creative line down the mountain. Even if...
Forrest Shearer, Harry Kearney
8
May
Adventure Season - Videos
Lyngen Lines - Splitboarding In Norway With Miikka Hast
Between the insane terrain and amazing access, the Lyngen Alps of Norway are one of the premiere splitboard destinations on the planet. Few know the faces, summits and couloirs of the Lyngen Peninsula better than Finnish freerider Miikka Hast....
Miikka Hast
20
Apr
Jones Snowboards Sizing Guidelines
Ready to buy a Jones board but shaky on what size to get? Here’s the lowdown on how to size our boards based on experience from Jeremy Jones and the Jones team. These suggested sizing guidelines are based on rider weight, rider height, boot...
Jeremy Jones
19
Apr
My Priority By Jeremy Jones
Jeremy and the POW crew storm the steps of the US Capitol in Washington D.C. Photo - Forrest Woodward I make hundreds of decisions in the mountains every year that could have dire consequences. To make the right decisions time and again...
Jeremy Jones
4
Apr
Meet The Team
Sammy Luebke Wins 2018 Freeride World Tour And Xtreme Verbier
He done, done, done it again! With a commanding win at the Xtreme Verbier 2018 on April 1st, Sammy Luebke clinched an unprecedented third consecutive Freeride World Tour overall title and Xtreme Verbier victory! Sammy is the first athlete in...
Sammy Luebke